The membership of the Children, Adolescents, and Media Division is brought together for an annual business meeting as part of the annual meeting of the International Communication Association. Nominations for officers are sought at the divisional business meeting and are solicited from the entire membership by email in July/August. Elections for officers are held in conjunction with the annual ballot issued through the International Communication Association in October. The elected official begins serving at the conclusion of the following annual meeting.

In total, there are five officer positions: Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Student and Early Career Representative, and International Liaison. The Chair and Vice Chair/Chair Elect position for the Children, Adolescents, and Media Division is a four year term, consisting of two years as Vice Chair/Chair Elect followed by two years as Chair. The Secretary, Student and Early Career Representative, and International Liaison positions are two year terms.

For more information about the responsibilities of each of these positions, please view the CAM by-laws.


officers_Nancy_Jennings_headshotNancy Jennings, Ph.D.
College of Arts and Sciences
University of Cincinnati
@jennings_nancy •

Vice Chair

Nicole_MartinsNicole Martins, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
The Media School
Indiana University Bloomington


officers_James_Alex_BonusJames Alex Bonus, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
School of Communication
The Ohio State University

Student and Early Career Representative

officers_Sarah_PilaSarah Pila
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Medical Social Sciences
Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University

International Liaison

officers_Cecilia_ZhouCecilia Zhou
PhD Student
University of Massachusetts at Amherst
@ceciliazhouyuxi •

Previous Chairs

Jessica Taylor Piotrowski, Ph.D.
Sahara Byrne, Ph.D.
Erica Scharrer, Ph.D.
Amy Jordan, Ph.D.
Alison Bryant, Ph.D.
Patti Valkenburg, Ph.D.
Moniek Buijzen, Ph.D.

Previous Secretaries
Ine Beyens, Ph.D.
Laura Vandenbosch, Ph.D.
Karin Fikkers, Ph.D.
Esther Rozendaal, Ph.D.
Susannah Stern, Ph.D.
Ariel Chernin, Ph.D.